SP approves ordinance establishing Panglao Island Executive Committee for Sustainable Environmental Protection Project

The Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Bohol recently approved the Panglao Island Executive Committee for Sustainable Environmental Protection Project (PIEC for SEPP) Ordinance, which was sponsored by Atty. Abeleon Damalerio, Chair of the SP Committee on Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

The PIEC for SEPP was created to serve as a coordinating and advisory body for environmental protection and conservation, which serves as a mechanism for reaching consensus among the LGUs concerned and giving them proper advice for the implementation of their respective ordinances or passage of resolutions as applicable.

Chaired by Governor Edgar M. Chatto, PIEC for SEPP is composed of the Board of Directors, Working Groups for Tourism and Nature Conservation and Waste Management, the Scientific Council, and the Supporting Organizations. The municipal mayors of both Dauis and Panglao sit as Vice-Chairpersons who perform the duties and responsibilities of the Chair in his absence. Serving as directors are Provincial Tourism Officer Josephine Cabarrus, Mr. Samuel Racho of the Bohol Enviromental Management Office (BEMO), Mr. Holger Horn of the Philippine Fun Divers, Mr. Dominic Butalid of the Bohol Bee Farm, and Atty. Lucas Nunag of the Amarela Beach Resort. The Provincial Planning and Development Coordinator, Atty. John Titus Vistal, serves as the head secretariat of the Board of Directors.

Representatives from both private and public sectors and the civil society who serve as directors  are replaced on rotation basis during the annual plenary meeting of the committee.

The Scientific Council is composed of scientists, researchers, and practitioners from the University of the Philippines, Siliman University, University of San Carlos, Bohol Island State University, Holy Name University, Coastal Conservation and Executive Foundation (CCEF), and Panglao Dauis Baclayon-Bohol Marine Triangle (PADAYON-BMT). It provides the technical and scientific advice for environmental protection and conservation to the PIEC.

On the other hand, the Support Organizations come from from national government agencies , namely, the Department of Environmental and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Tourism (DOT), Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), Philippine Navy (PN), Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), National Economic Development Authority (NEDA), and the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC).

BEMO serves as secretariat of the Tourism and Nature Conservation Working Group while the Provincial Health Office (PHO) is the secretariat of the Waste Management Working Group.

Leave a Comment